再聽 Danny Boy

由於正在準備女生小合唱,最近我一有空閒時間就思考這首民歌的意思。在此附上英文歌詞和我自己嘗試的翻譯。

Oh Danny boy, the pipes, the pipes are calling                 哦,親愛的丹尼,當悠揚的風笛已經吹起,
From glen to glen, and down the mountain side                越過山谷,翻過群山,來到你身旁
The summer’s gone, and all the flowers are dying             盛夏已經過去,落紅無需煩憂
‘Tis you, ’tis you must go and I must bide.                        而你即將離家,我卻孤獨留守

But come ye back when summer’s in the meadow            請務必回來看我,當夏日綠草茵茵
Or when the valley’s hushed and white with snow              或當冬日的山谷白雪皚皚,寂靜無聲
‘Tis I’ll be here in sunshine or in shadow                           我會在陽光或在樹影中迎接你
Oh Danny boy, oh Danny boy, I love you so.                     因為啊,親愛的丹尼,我是如此愛你

And if you come, and all the flowers are dying                   若你到來,鮮花已然枯萎
And I am dead, as dead I well may be                                     而我已經逝去,只因生命也有定期
Ye’ll come and find the place where I am lying                   請你找到我埋葬的地方

And kneel and say an “Ave” there for me.                              輕輕跪下,默默為我祝福

And I shall hear, though soft you tread above me          我會聽見,你輕柔的腳步踏在我的墳頭
And all my grave will warm and sweeter be                       這冰冷的墳墓也會變得溫暖而甜美
For you will bend and tell me that you love me               只因你會俯身,告訴我你愛我
And I shall sleep in peace until you come to me.             而我會寧靜地守候著,直到你回到我身邊

讀了許多遍之後發現,這首歌講的分明就是父母對於兒女離家既不捨又祝福的複雜心情。我之前居然僅僅認為這是一種“溫暖”的感情,看來的確不懂父母的心。直到前兩天和父母聊天,聊起未來眾多的不確定因素和我的小小擔憂,才發現作為父母,希望的只是孩子能夠健康快樂地生活而已。父母也會老,也需要照顧。可是生命的獨立就註定意味著分離。於是父母帶著滿心的祝願,送兒女們踏上旅程。

8 thoughts on “再聽 Danny Boy

Leave a Reply

