Concluding remarks for my voice class: what I’ve learned about my own singing

I have always had difficulty opening up the space (in my mouth) for singing and projecting my voice actively. I often shy away from high notes simply because I am not confident that I can sing them. In this class I have found it useful to imagine myself as a tree expanding its roots deeply into the ground – this allows me to focus on deep breathing rather than the fear that the note would come out badly.

Another problem I often have is ineffective breathing. Sometimes I don’t open my chest enough and therefore run out of breath easily. Putting my hands on my chest and trying to make the middle fingers apart proves to be a good reminder for me to breathe adequately, although it might look artificial.

I have benefited a lot from the exercises to increase the “flow” of my performance. Singers need to put themselves under a reasonable amount of (mental) pressure to do everything right: deep breathing, utilizing head voice, correct posture, etc. But too much pressure within the body often leads to tension in the throat and unnecessary interference from the muscles, causing the voice to sound squeaky. Notes, as shown in sheet music, are merely dots. Our voice should be the line that connects these dots and brings the flowing melodies to life. It is useful to imagine myself being a willow tree with its branches moving gently in the summer breeze. Another approach which I leaned in this class is to wave your hand a half circle (from one side of your body to the other) for each phrase before taking another breath, and then alternate to the other hand.

For me, singing brings out courage and confidence. As a singer, I have to push myself hard, to observe and critique impartially, to challenge myself and refine myself. The best thing about singing is that you can always improve given the right tools and enough practice. Right!! I was also glad to know that women can open up their hip bones better after having children and can touch upon lower notes as they grow older. Indeed, my 23-year-old voice is much fuller and richer than my 16-year-old voice! It is absolutely fulfilling to see myself expanding the range of quality of my singing. I’m seriously considering taking private voice lessons in the next semester — I can just imagine myself being a lot happier with music in my life.

Leave a Reply

