2015: Learn, Explore, Create

2014 has been a great year for me. I experienced a lot of uncertainty and anxiety but have also become much more mature. For 2015, here are a few of my keywords:

* Learn *

Learn about economics, in terms of both theory and empirical methods. As a first-year PhD student, learning is my priority. I have come to realize that without a deep understanding about the current literature, ideas are often either too shallow or too outdated. I should also develop my own perspective to see the questions and modeling techniques in different fields under a unified framework, which will allow me to have a bigger repository of ideas and research tools.

Learn about how to communicate ideas, in writing and in person. Writing is like carving a statue out of a bare stone. There are general rules to be followed, but good writing requires a tremendous amount of practice and through this practice, a solid grasp of the reader’s mind.

* Explore *

A fair amount of exploration is needed before one settles on a particular (set of) ideas for dissertation (in the short run) and future research (in the long run). I need to not only be more aware of the resources around me, but also develop the ability to abstract and synthesize relevant information for my own use.

Apart from academics, I hope to explore more about the area where I’m living and to make more friends. This, I believe, will come naturally.

* Create *

The ultimate goal of research is to advance the boundary of human knowledge. Creativity is a key ingredient to good research. I definitely need to improve in this aspect. Hope to come back with more insights in a year.

One important difference between a PhD student and an undergrad/masters student is that work is no longer distinguishable from leisure. Everything seems to be related to economics in some way. While I know economic is very important to me, I am also trying to not be buried in the ivory tower and to communicate with people from other backgrounds. We have a lot to learn from each other.

Finally, a few thoughts on love and distance. If I can give one piece of advice to people in long distance relationships, I would say: don’t see distance as your enemy. View it as an opportunity for you to become more independent individuals. You can achieve personal growth while maintaining the emotional bond with your significant other. Strive to become a better person so that the next time you meet, you are able to deliver more positive energy to each other. Don’t panic if the relationship doesn’t work out — when that happens, it’s rarely about the distance.

HAPPY NEW YEAR!

2 thoughts on “2015: Learn, Explore, Create

Leave a Reply

